MCC & Iowa Valley Grinnell students honored as 2023 All-Iowa Academic Team

2023 All-Iowa Academic Team

All-Iowa Academic Team honorees Chloe Wickam and Rebekah Stone pictured in the front row left to right. Second row from left to right Robin Shafer Lilienthal, Pele Waddilove and Dr. Kristie Fisher. Back row from left to right Cecil Holland and Dr. Vincent Boyd.

MARSHALLTOWN – Marshalltown Community College and Iowa Valley Grinnell students were honored as members of the “2023 All-Iowa Academic Team” at a banquet held recently in Des Moines. The Iowa Association of Community College Trustees (IACCT) sponsored the banquet.

MCC students Rebekah Stone and Chloe Wickam, Iowa Valley Grinnell students Paul Salmon and Samuel Bandstra and two students from Ellsworth Community College were honored during the banquet.

The All-USA Community College Academic Team competition provides students with an opportunity to compete for scholarships to four-year colleges, and for some, a stipend for their hard work. Four students can be nominated per chapter, of which two can be nominated for the Transfer Pathway, which is for students transferring to a four-year college, and the other two for the Career Pathway – which is for students entering the workforce upon graduation.

Each fall faculty and staff are given the opportunity to nominate students for the All-USA Community College Academic Team competition. Nominees must meet eligibility requirements, which includes a GPA of 3.5 or higher; campus and community involvement, leadership skills, etc., plus completing a 10-page application online by the deadline.

The completed applications are submitted to Phi Theta Kappa headquarters where they are reviewed and tabulated. The top scoring students are selected to the first, second, and third team of the All-USA Community College Academic Team. All other students are selected for its state’s academic team, of which six IVCCD students were selected to the 2023 All-Iowa Academic Team.

In attendance at the banquet were Dr. Kristie Fisher, IVCCD Chancellor; Robin Shafer Lilienthal, MCC Provost; Dr. Vincent Boyd, MCC Academic Dean; Angie Redmond, MCC Dean of Enrollment and Student Life; Cecil Holland, Chapter Co-Advisor; Pele Waddilove, Chapter Co-Advisor, Stone and Wickam (honorees) and their parents.