MCC inducts 30 into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

Spring PTK Inductees

From left to right. Front row (left to right): Micki Butler, Bethany Thurston, Nikita McNamee, Paw Sirr, Chloe Sawyer, Sydni Gale, Daisy Covarrubias Andrade, Kdu Paw and Chloe Wickam. Middle row: Pele Waddilove, Eleora Sheets, Luisa Campos Ribeiro de Noronha, Madison Husak, Alondra Covarrubias Vargas, Kaci Krier, Brittany Sichra, Rebekah Stone, and Robin Lilienthal. Back row: Edgar Tellez-Ibarra, Matthew McKeon, Aaron Debus, Rafael Cagnin, Filipe Andre Nassif de Almeida, Bernardo Pereira, Julio Feria Munoz, Nikhil Sacher, Michael Barell, and Cecil Holland.

MARSHALLTOWN – Phi Theta Kappa advisors Pele Waddilove and Cecil Holland along with Provost Robin Lilienthal are pleased to announce that 30 students were accepted into the Alpha Iota Rho Chapter at Marshalltown Community College this spring. The induction ceremony of the new members was held on Thursday, March 30, in Dejardin Hall on the MCC campus.

Guest speaker, MCC Dean of Enrollment Services & Student Life, Angie Redmond, addressed PTK inductees encouraging them to pursue programs and jobs they discover their passion in. She talked about her educational journey and following her passion to help student as they start their own educational journey’s at MCC.

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society for two-year colleges. To qualify for membership, students must enroll in a diploma or two-year degree program with a cumulative 3.5 grade point average or higher and have completed a minimum of 12 credit hours.

Spring 2023 inductees, listed by hometowns, are:

Brasilia, Brazil – Luisa Campos Ribeiro de Noronha

Davenport, IA – Abigail M. Redmond

Des Moines, IA – Marie U. Karangwa

Gilman, IA – Rayne O. McIlrath, Bethany J. Thurston and Megan J. Witte

Green Mountain, IA – Kaci M. Krier

Grinnell, IA – Ashton M. Braack

Heimerdingen, Germany – Aaron Debus

Liscomb, IA – Eleora A. Sheets

Marshalltown, IA – Holly J. Albertson, Daisy Covarrubias Andrade, Alondra Covarrubias Vargas, Sydni E. Gale, Marvea L. Harvey, Madison K. Husak, Brittany E. Sichra, Paw T. Sirr and Edgar Tellez-Ibarra

McClelland, IA – Matthew T. McKeon

Melbourne, IA – Nikita T. McNamee

Miami, FL – Rafael G. Cagnin

Midreshet Ben Gurion, Israel – Michael Barell

Montour, IA – Chloe M. Sawyer

Nevada, IA – Elizabeth Perez

Niteroi, Brazil – Filipe Andre Nassif de Almeida and Bernardo M. Pereira

Seville, Spain – Julio Feria

State Center, IA – Micki L. Butler

Vienna, Austria – Nikhil N. Sacher