Iowa Valley Grinnell Phi Theta Kappa inducts new members

Iowa Valley Grinnell’s Spring 2022 Phi Theta Kappa inductees are, front row from left to right: Cooper Runyan, Lily Kriegel, Hailey Heishman, and Sophia Puls. Back row left to right: Sierra Veverka, Nathan Jorgensen, Kierstin Vandecamp, and Kayden Heishman. Not pictured are Ryanne Martin, Calalynn Beller, and Tia Shaffer.

GRINNELL – Twelve (12) Iowa Valley Community College Grinnell students were inducted into the Beta Sigma Chi chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society Wednesday, April 13.

The new PTK inductees are, by hometown:

  • Boone – Cooper Runyan
  • Brooklyn – Kayden Heishman, Lily Kriegel, Ryanne Martin, Sophia Puls, and Kierstin Vandekamp
  • Deep River – Abigail Pope
  • Grinnell – Sierra Veverka
  • Kellogg – Calalynn Beller
  • Malcom – Hailey Heishman
  • Montezuma – Tia Shaffer and Nathan Jorgensen 

The guest speaker was Jared Diehm, owner and operator of Jay’s Deli in Grinnell. Diehm is an Iowa Valley Grinnell graduate.

MaryAnne Nickle, Dean of Iowa Valley Grinnell, administered the oath of membership. Current PTK Officer Thea Larsson and IVG faculty and staff Barb Hall, Kelly Davis, and Matt Ostrander welcomed the new inductees.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,275 chapters on college campuses. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918. Phi Theta Kappa is recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official honor society of two-year colleges.