MCC and IVG are closed Tuesday, Aug. 11

Due to power outage and storm clean-up, Marshalltown Community College, Iowa Valley Grinnell, and Iowa Valley Continuing Education will be closed on Tuesday, Aug. 11.

Skip To Main Content

Iowa Valley Grinnell Phi Theta Kappa inducts new members

IVG PTK Fall 2019 Inductees

Iowa Valley Grinnell’s Fall 2019 Phi Theta Kappa inductees are, front row from left to right: Madelyn Bolte, Mikayla Henry, Justin Marcinik, Marshall Roundabush and Tedd Christensen. Not pictured are Geoffrey Burd, Madelyn Dejong, Rachel Hawkins, Joseph Kasal, Chloe Latcham, Jacob Thomas, Taylor Van Ersvelde and Carissa Vanzee.

GRINNELL – Thirteen (13) Iowa Valley Community College Grinnell students were inducted into the Beta Sigma Chi chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society Thursday, Nov. 7.

The new PTK inductees are, by hometown:

  • Brooklyn – Rachel Hawkins, Marshall Roudabush and Taylor Van Ersvelde.
  • Fontanelle – Tedd Christensen.
  • Grinnell – Madelyn Bolte, Geoffrey Burd, Justin Marcinik and Jacob Thomas
  • Montezuma – Madelyn Dejong, Mikayla Henry, Joseph Kasal, Chloe Latcham and Carissa Vanzee.

The guest speaker was Nicole Brua-Behrens, Executive Director of Greater Poweshiek Community Foundation. She attended a community college and has experience working at three different community colleges.

MaryAnne Nickle, Dean of Iowa Valley Grinnell, administered the oath of membership. Former PTK president Jennifer McAlexander and IVG faculty and staff Barb Hall, Kelly Davis, Beth Hotchkin, Laura Armstrong and Ed Jorgensen welcomed the new inductees.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,275 chapters on college campuses. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918. Phi Theta Kappa is recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official honor society of two-year colleges.

Related Articles