Skip To Main Content

MCC is focused intently on STEM

Technology graphicThe Marshalltown Community College Mathematics, Sciences and Computer Networking faculty will be available to discuss STEM-related topics, including careers and college courses, at upcoming local events this spring.

“Science, technology, engineering and mathematics, collectively referred to as STEM, represent a huge number of industries and career fields that should definitely be top-of-mind for elementary school, middle school, high school, and college students today,” says Dr. Danielle Kness, MCC Biology Faculty. “The state of Iowa has a strong STEM focus, and the state’s leaders are working to bring even more of these rewarding and high-paying careers and industries to our communities.”

MCC’s STEM faculty will participate in these spring events:

  • Sunday, March 3 – Marshall County Family STEM Festival, 1 to 4 pm at Lenihan Intermediate School, 212 W. Ingledue St., Marshalltown.
  • Sunday, April 7 – South Tama County Family STEM Festival, 1 to 4 pm at STC Elementary School (gym and cafeteria), 1611 Country Club Drive, Tama.

Both events are open to families and area residents of all ages.

The March 3 event in Marshalltown is sponsored by the North Central Regional Hub of the Iowa Governor’s STEM Advisory Council. According to the Governor’s STEM Advisory Council website, the goal of the festival is to bring science, technology, engineering and mathematics to life by assembling experienced scientists, engineers, teachers and education experts to provide hands-on activities. Participants will be able to stroll from activity to activity depending on their interests. This year’s activities will include the ISU Insect Zoo, environmental biology, planetariums, coding and robotics, virtual reality, and more. Additional information is online at

In addition to Dr. Kness, the MCC Mathematics & Sciences Division includes Dr. Haitham Abdel Majid (Physics), Dr. Matt Bandstra (Anatomy/Physiology and Biology), Bobby Elam (Math), April Graveman (Biology and Health Sciences), Brenda Heitmeyer (Computer Networking Technology), Mark Monroe (Math), Dr. Jason Poock (Chemistry), Abby VonFumetti (Math), and Sally Wilson (Biology).

Related Articles