Skip To Main Content

Record 10 student-athletes earn prestigious academic honors


A record number of Marshalltown Community College student-athletes have earned prestigious national academic honors. 10 members were awarded NJCAA Academic Student-Athlete Awards.

The NJCAA awarded student-athletes national honors based on their overall grade point average over the course of the 2015-16 year. Student-athletes that achieved a perfect 4.0 GPA were awarded the Pinnacle Award for Academic Excellence. Student-athletes that maintained a GPA between 3.80 and 3.99 were awarded the Superior Academic Achievement Award while student-athletes with a GPA between 3.60 and 3.79 earned the Exemplary Academic Achievement Award.

Freshman Barbara Araoz (Neuquen, Argentina/Maria Auxiliadota) of the MCC Women’s Basketball team and sophomore Ryan Flynn (Hartley, IA/Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn) of the MCC Baseball team were awarded the Pinnacle Award after achieving a perfect 4.0 GPA.

Freshman Courtney Fudge (Pleasant Hill, IA/Des Moines East) of the MCC Softball team, sophomoreFlorian Caraballo (Cordoba, Spain/I.E.S. Medina-Azahara) of the MCC Men’s Soccer team, freshmanJohn Magnuson (Elk Run Heights, IA/Waterloo East) of the baseball team, and Victoria Pothast(Melbourne, IA/West Marshall) of the women’s basketball team earned the Superior Academic Achievement Award.

Freshmen Miguel Jareno (Ubeda, Spain/I.E.S. Lopez-Neyra), Pedro Oliveira (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil/Colegio Estadual), and Rafael Pereira (Lisbon, Portugal/Escola Secundaria Vergilio Ferreira) of the soccer team and sophomore Paulius Sakinis (Klaipeda, Lithuania/Lourdes Central Catholic) of the MCC Men’s Basketball team earned the Exemplary Academic Achievement Award.

To earn recognition from the national office, along with the GPA benchmarks, student-athletes needed to meet the required criteria of 24 semester credit hours for the year.

The previous record for most academic awards in a single season from the NJCAA was six for the 2013-14 year. MCC has had at least two student-athletes earn national academic recognition in each of the last five years.

To see a full list of all-time academic award winners at MCC, visit: MCC All-Time Academic Award Winners

NJCAA Pinnacle Award for Academic Achievement

Barbara Araoz Women’s Basketball
Ryan Flynn Baseball

NJCAA Superior Academic Achievement Award

Florian Caraballo Men’s Soccer
Courtney Fudge Softball
John Magnuson Baseball
Victoria Pothast Women’s Basketball

NJCAA Exemplary Academic Achievement

Miguel Jareno Men’s Soccer
Pedro Oliveira Men’s Soccer
Rafael Pereira Men’s Soccer
Paulius Sakinis Men’s Basketball


Related Articles