Skip To Main Content

MCC Phi Theta Kappa inducts 27 new members

PTK Spring 2016

Spring 2016 Marshalltown Community College Phi Theta Kappa Inductees. Shown left to right, front row: Anna Scheidel, Scott Poe, Pedro Gomes de Oliveira, Rafael Leite Pereira, Joshua Sorsen, Nathan Swaim, Jared Bowman.
Middle row: Raena Garcia, Alicia Fonseca, Megan Ellis, Maria Estrada Laurel, Maria Yepez, Luisa Ortega, Joshua Benda, Antonio Alvarez Manilla Valdes.
Back row: Terry Grimes (PTK Vice-President), PJ Colbert (chapter advisor), Kaylee Howe, Olga Avalos, Pele Waddilove (chapter advisor), Elizabeth Noble, Dr. Chris Russell (Dean of Students & Academic Affairs/guest speaker), Dr. Chris Duree (IVCCD Chancellor), Dr. Robin Lilienthal (MCC Provost).
Not pictured are: Courtney Anderson, Courtney Fudge, Alec Johnston, Matthew Jorpeland, Ryan McDaniel, Jonathan Rhodes, Lucas Ruby, Robert Silver, Lexie Valentine.

Twenty-seven new members were inducted into Marshalltown Community College’s Alpha Iota Rho Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society of the two-year college on March 31.

The Phi Theta Kappa organization recognizes academic achievement at the community college level. The MCC Chapter requires members to have completed at least 12 semester hours in a two-year degree program, be currently enrolled, attended the previous semester, and have a 3.5 GPA or higher.

Pele Waddilove, PTK Advisor, welcomed guests and gave a brief history of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society in America. She also highlighted the numerous ways that PTK members have volunteered in the community throughout this year. MCC Provost Robin Lilienthal took the podium and congratulated inductees on behalf of the MCC administration.


Chapter Advisor Pele Waddilove congratulates Olga Avalos of Marshalltown as she was inducted into PTK on Thursday.

Chris Russell, MCC Dean of Students & Academic Affairs, was guest speaker for the ceremony. The theme of his speech centered on honoring and encouraging civility in our society. “Civility seems to be disappearing from our daily life,” says Dr. Russell. “This night allows us to reconnect with our values. You are an example of our mission at this college, and I challenge you all to strive to reach high goals, and take the wisdom you gain here at MCC and bring it to our communities.” Russell finished with the classic quote by Mary Wortley Montagu—“civility costs nothing, but buys everything.”

Chapter Vice President, Terry Grimes, conducted the ceremony with the assistance of chapter advisors Pele Waddilove and PJ Colbert. Waddilove and Colbert met and congratulated the inductees on stage as they signed their names, received their PTK stoles, and lit their candles. PJ Colbert was also inducted as an ‘Honorary Member’ of PTK on Thursday night.

Inductees, listed by hometown, are:

Chelsea – Alicia Fonseca, Associate Degree-Nursing.
Conrad – Scott Poe, Liberal Arts.
Des Moines – Lexie Valentine, Liberal Arts.
Ellsworth – Courtney Fudge, Liberal Arts.
Garwin – Anna Scheidel, Practical Nursing.
Gilman – Jared Bowman, Business.
Marshalltown – Antonio Alvarez Manilla Valdes, Business Administration; Olga Avalos (undecided); Megan Ellis, Social Work; Maria Estrada Laurel, Apparel Merchandising; Raena Garcia, Psychology; Kaylee Howe, Liberal Arts & Practical Nursing; Alec Johnston, Accounting; Matt Jorpeland, Computer Science; Ryan McDaniel, Pre-Med; Luisa Ortega, Business; Jonathan Rhodes, Computer Science; Robert Silver, Accounting; Joshua Sorsen, Liberal Arts; Nathan Swaim, Athletic Training; Maria Yepez, Marketing.
State Center – Elizabeth Noble (undecided); Lucas Ruby, History.
Toledo – Courtney Anderson, Practical Nursing; Joshua Benda, Broadcasting/Mass Communication.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil – Pedro Gomes de Oliveira, Psychology.
Lisbon, Portugal – Rafael Leite Pereira, Business.

(click here for more photos)

Related Articles