Skip To Main Content

MCC Phi Theta Kappa inducts 18 new members

PTK Induction Fall 2015

Fall 2015 Marshalltown Community College Phi Theta Kappa Inductees. Shown left to right, front row: Ted Lewis (guest speaker), Dr. Robin Lilienthal (MCC Provost), Michael Berg, Petra Alejo, Karen Rebelo, Ivonne Gonzalez, Alex Hashemi-Toroghi, Dalonna Clemens, Hannah Stone, Sabrina Price, Dr. Chris Russell (Dean of Students and Academic Affairs). Back row: PJ Colbert (chapter advisor), Pele Waddilove (chapter advisor), Justin Parker, Janie Ferneau (Chapter President), Emily Clawson, Christina McKibbin, Ella May McTurk, Alyssa Strait, Nickolas Ferriss (VP of Publicity). Not pictured are: Angela Ceaser, Kimberly Dawson, Andrew Gartin, Amelia Tonner, and Lauren Wolfe.

Eighteen new members were inducted into Marshalltown Community College’s Alpha Iota Rho Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society of the two-year college on Oct. 22.

The Phi Theta Kappa organization recognizes academic achievement at the community college level. The MCC Chapter requires members to have completed at least 12 semester hours in a two-year degree program, be currently enrolled, attended the previous semester, and have a 3.5 GPA or higher.

Dr. Chris Russell, Dean of Students and Academic Affairs, welcomed guests and congratulated students for their accomplishments. MCC Provost Robin Lilienthal took the podium and congratulated inductees on behalf of the MCC administration. Dr. Lilienthal also spoke about the importance of completing your Associate’s Degree before transferring to another college or university.

Ted Lewis, MCC Accounting instructor, was guest speaker for the ceremony. He opened with importance of the four pillars of Phi Theta Kappa: scholarship, leadership, fellowship, and service. Lewis noted these two quotes, “To whom much is given, much is required” and “Don’t just sit there, do something.” He finished his speech with an emphasis on serving others. He reminded each of the inductees about the upcoming volunteer opportunities on campus and in the community—Pumpkin Jamboree, PTK Blood Drive, and House of Compassion. “Think about what you’re passionate about and find ways to put that passion towards helping others,” said Lewis.

Chapter President, Janie Ferneau, conducted the ceremony with the assistance of Nickolas Ferriss, VP of Publicity, and chapter advisors Pele Waddilove and PJ Colbert. Waddilove and Colbert met and congratulated the inductees on stage as they signed their names, received their PTK stoles, and lit their candles. Inductees, listed by hometown, are:

Ames – Alex Hashemi-Toroghi, Biology/Chemistry.
Conrad – Amelia Tonner, Business.
Gilman – Andrew Gartin, Agricultural Sciences.
Grinnell – Angela Ceaser, Computer Science.
Marshalltown – Petra Alejo, Pharmacy; Michael Berg, Business; Emily Clawson, Nursing; Dalonna Clemens, Business; Kimberly Dawson, Liberal Arts; Ivonne Gonzalez, Liberal Arts; Christina McKibbin, Education/Teaching; Ella May McTurk, Liberal Arts; Sabrina Price, Pre-Medicine; Karen Rebelo, Liberal Arts; Hannah Stone, Pre-Medicine; Alyssa Strait, Psychology.
Melbourne – Justin Parker, Nursing.
Miles City, MT – Lauren Wolfe, Liberal Arts.



Ivonne Gonzalez


Alex Hashemi-Toroghi


Hannah Stone

(click here for more photos)

Related Articles