Skip To Main Content

MCC hosts Dance & Diversity Festival Oct. 14

Diversity Festival 2014

MCC students at last year’s fall Diversity Festival in Babe Harder Gymnasium.

The Marshalltown Diversity Committee is hosting a Diversity Festival on Wednesday, Oct. 14, at Marshalltown Community College. The event is open to the public and will take place from 11 am – 1 pm in Babe Harder Gym, 3700 South Center St., Marshalltown. The theme of this fall’s festival is “Al Ritmo de la Cultura” or “Cultural Rhythm”.

This year’s festival will emphasize Latin dance and rhythm, with students and others demonstrating and performing certain dances. Professional dance team, “Salsa Cedar Falls” will be the featured group performing that afternoon. Guests will be welcome and encouraged to join in on the celebration. MCC Students will also be performing with drums, guitars, and a piano.

Visitors will have the opportunity to get Henna tattoos, see cooking demonstrations, and check out several information booths representing diversity at MCC—GBLTQ, religious diversity, non-traditional careers, veterans, and others.

“Our MCC students are fortunate because they have the everyday opportunity to experience the richness and beauty of diversity in ethnicity, race, age, religion, orientation, or career,” says Carolyn Briggs, MCC English Professor and co-chair of the Diversity Committee. “Our campus is always filled with energy and high hopes, but on October 14, there will be a distinct Latin beat beneath it all.”

The event is open to the public. Lunch will be provided and will consist of mainly Indian cuisine. For more information, please contact Julia Aguilar Reyes at 641-844-5680 or

The Marshalltown Diversity Committee is continuing to reinforce its mission to educate others about their principles and to implement a culture of equality among those who work and study within the college. The Committee is chaired by Carolyn Briggs and Julia Aguilar Reyes and members this year include: Rachael Koehler, Barb Jennings, George Johnson, Katie Kothenbeutel, Valerie Ruiz, Chris Russell, Hashem Hashemi-Toroghi, Angie Redmond, Mary Means, Jennifer Wilson, Marie Sheneman, Tim Castle, Marisol Aguero and Chris Brees.

Related Articles