Skip To Main Content

MCC inducts 28 into Phi Theta Kappa honor society

MCC PTK Fall Induction

New PTK honor society inductees (first and second rows) and Marshalltown Community College administrators and ceremony participants.

The Alpha Iota Rho Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Marshalltown Community College inducted 28 new members this week. Phi Theta Kappa is an international honor society for two-year colleges. To qualify for membership, MCC students must be in a degree-seeking program with a cumulative 3.5 grade point average, and have completed a minimum of 12 credit hours.

PTK Co-Advisor Pele Waddilove welcomed the inductees and guests. She gave a history of the organization and reviewed the local chapter’s annual activities, most of which focus on service and leadership. Since the MCC chapter was chartered in 1984, it has inducted 920 members, including the 28 new members inducted this week.

MCC Provost Dr. Robin Lilienthal was the guest speaker, and she talked about the fact that “there is life after college.” She encouraged the PTK inductees to be curious, ask questions, and be learners for life; to build expertise and take risks, to understand that every job is a “tech job;” to learn to deal with ambiguity, and to be humble and learn from peers and mentors.

As inductees signed the membership book and received a PTK stole, PTK Co-Advisor PJ Colbert read a short biographical statement about each new member. Each inductee then lit a candle signifying a torch of knowledge, and all recited the membership pledge. Assisting with the ceremony were PTK Chapter Members Lisa Butler, Cynthia Coury, KaeLynne Meling, Haruka Sugiyama, Kristine Wilder and Vel Zi, and MCC Dean of Academic Affairs Dr. Patrick Kennedy.

Fall 2018 inductees, listed by hometown, are:

Brooklyn, IA – Stevie Hazelwood and Krystal Johnson.

Council Bluffs, IA – Reece Blay.

Des Moines, IA – Danica Wilson.

Forest City, IA – Rachel Holst.

Garwin, IA – Jordyn Lynch.

Gladbrook, IA – Bailey Morgan.

Iowa Falls, IA – Hannah Redmond.

Marshalltown, IA – Michelle Adelmund, Acacia Brown, Anna Carlson, Margarita Carrasco, Lindsey Jeffries, Sarah Jacobs, Jenika Lynch, Sydney Mann, Bethany Sinn, Olivia Stone, Haley Storjohann and Tiffany Thomas.

Saitama-Shi, Japan – Ryota Masuko.

State Center, IA – Karlie Bown, Mya Kirke, Catherine Sjoblom and Ashlyn Watson.

Tama, IA – Marina Gromov.

Toledo, IA – Autumn Keahna and Hope Werner.

Related Articles