Skip To Main Content

MCC & IVG students named to 2018 All-Iowa Academic Team

MCC All Iowa Academic Team 2018

Dr. Robin Lilienthal, Kaylee Howe, PJ Colbert, Allison Fisher, Pele Waddilove, and Moises Fonseca of Marshalltown Community College.

Marshalltown Community College (MCC) students Allison Fisher, Moises Fonseca and Kaylee Howe and Iowa Valley Grinnell (IVG) student Bryce Dekoning were honored as members of Phi Theta Kappa’s 2018 All-Iowa Academic Team at a banquet in Des Moines on Feb. 28. The top Iowa community college students are nominated each year by the Phi Theta Kappa chapter at each campus.


Allison Fisher of Marshalltown is studying Secondary Education and English at MCC; her plan after graduation is to transfer to the University of Northern Iowa. Fisher is MCC’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter president and is involved in the college’s Honors Program. She has been named to the MCC Dean’s List and also works as a peer tutor for her fellow students.

Moises Fonseca of Chelsea is studying Psychology at MCC and plans to transfer to the Fresno State after graduating in May. Fonseca is vice president of the MCC Collegiate Veterans Association and participated in this year’s Student Veterans of America Leadership Institute. He is involved in the Peer Leader Program and participates in the MCC Honors Program.

Kaylee Howe of Marshalltown is in MCC’s Practical Nursing program and plans to continue her nursing education in the Associate Degree Nursing program next year. She is a Phi Theta Kappa Student Senate representative, a peer leader, and a peer tutor. Howe was also the recipient of an MCC Student Leadership Award.


Bryce Dekoning of Grinnell is pursuing an Associate of Arts degree with an emphasis in Accounting at Iowa Valley Grinnell. He plans to transfer to the University of Northern Iowa after graduation. Dekoning is a member and chapter officer of Phi Theta Kappa and has been named to the Dean’s List.

The honorees were accompanied to the recognition banquet by Dr. Robin Lilienthal, MCC Provost; Dr. Patrick Kennedy, MCC Dean of Academic Affairs; MaryAnne Nickle, Dean of Iowa Valley Grinnell; Barbara Hall, IVG PTK Advisor; PJ Colbert and Pele Waddilove, MCC PTK Advisors; Dr. Chris Duree, IVCCD Chancellor; IVCCD Board of Director President Larry Johnson; and IVCCD Board members Deb Jones, Delbert Kellogg, and Paul Pohlson.

All Iowa Academic Team 2018 Grinnell

Bryce Dekoning and MaryAnne Nickle of Iowa Valley Grinnell.

Related Articles