Skip To Main Content

MCC inducts 20 into Phi Theta Kappa honor society

Fall 2017 Phi Theta Kappa induction participants

New PTK honor society inductees (first and second rows) and Marshalltown Community College administrators and ceremony participants.

The Alpha Iota Rho Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Marshalltown Community College inducted 20 new members this week. Phi Theta Kappa is an international honor society for two-year colleges. To qualify for membership, MCC students must be in a degree-seeking program with a cumulative 3.5 grade point average, and have completed a minimum of 12 credit hours.

PTK Co-Advisor Pele Waddilove welcomed the inductees and guests. She gave a history of the organization and reviewed the local chapter’s annual activities, most of which focus on service and leadership. Since the MCC chapter was chartered in 1984, it has inducted 871 members, including the 20 new members inducted this week.

MCC Provost Dr. Robin Lilienthal told the audience that students join PTK for many reasons, and that all are welcomed. She said the honor society members are high achieving, service oriented student leaders who are destined for success.

In a message from the MCC faculty, Art Professor Tim Castle told the inductees that they were there because they have risen above what is the least expected of them. “You are here because you have found within yourself the necessary resources to grow and succeed. I’m sure at times it hasn’t been easy. You have taken risks. You have asked much of your families and they have given abundantly. You have asked more of your professors than the rest of your classmates. You are America’s future – our bright future – and when I look at you I am reassured in this most uncertain time.”

As inductees signed the membership book and received a PTK stole, Castle read a short biographical statement about each new member. Each inductee then lit a candle signifying a torch of knowledge, and all recited the membership pledge. Assisting with the ceremony were PTK Chapter President Allison Fisher, PTK Chapter Vice President Jared Bowman, PTK Secretary Anna Scheidel, Student Senate representative Kaylee Howe, IVCCD Chancellor Dr. Chris Duree, and MCC Dean of Academic Affairs Dr. Patrick Kennedy.

Fall 2017 inductees, listed by hometown, are:

Altoona, IA – Robert Morris-Riley (Liberal Arts).

Chelsea, IA – Moises Fonseca (Liberal Arts).

Des Moines, IA – Taylor Tague (Liberal Arts).

Incheon, South Korea – Jooyoung Ha (Political Science).

Melbourne, IA – Taylor Brown (Biological Sciences).

Marengo, IA – Sarah Kavanh (Marketing).

Marshalltown, IA – Cesar Castillo (Business), Claudia Fernandez Flores (Pre-Nursing), Tynea Gerbo (Liberal Arts), Lexi Gimbel (Practical Nursing), Emilio Hernandez (Education), Jenna Hernandez (Liberal Arts), Bentiwa Johnson (Pre-Nursing), Alexandra Knospe (Liberal Arts), Gloria Melchor (Pre-Nursing), Cody Mortensen (Liberal Arts), Isabella Pedersen (Liberal Arts), Chantelle Schrader (Practical Nursing), and Jacqueline Wahl (Pre-Law).

State Center, IA – Nicholas McLaughlin (Liberal Arts).

Related Articles