Skip To Main Content

IVGrinnell Phi Theta Kappa inducts new members

IVG Fall Phi Theta Kappa inductees

Iowa Valley Grinnell’s Fall 2017 Phi Theta Kappa inductees are, front row from left, Barbara Hall (PTK Advisor), Aoife Lyons, Shelby Helm, Paris Flack, Lauren Montgomery, Lyla Kriegel, and IVG Dean MaryAnne Nickle. Back row, from left, Breck Goodman, Hanna Jones, Hailey Anderson, Kameron Moore and Kathryn Metz. Reece McCauslin is not pictured.

Eleven (11) Iowa Valley Community College Grinnell students were inducted into the Beta Sigma Chi chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society last night.

The new PTK inductees are, by hometown:

  • Brooklyn – Paris Flack, Lyla Kriegel and Kathryn Metz.
  • Grinnell – Lauren Montgomery and Kameron Moore.
  • Malcom – Hailey Anderson.
  • Montezuma – Breck Goodman, Shelby Helm, Aoife Lyons, Hanna Jones and Reece McCauslin.

Bryce Dekoning, PTK Chapter President, welcomed guests and conducted the ceremony. The guest speaker was Dan McCue, Digital Marketing Strategist at Grinnell Mutual. McCue told the honorees that after college they should continue to seek out validation and recognition for their achievements. He encouraged them to work well with others, recognize those who help them along the way, apply critical thinking skills, and always “show their work.”

MaryAnne Nickle, Dean of Iowa Valley Grinnell, administered the oath of membership. Current Beta Sigma Chi members Bryce Dekoning, Marilyn Fiser, Maddison Jansen and Kayte Werner and PTK Advisor Barbara Hall welcomed the new inductees.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in American higher education with 1,275 chapters on college campuses. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918. Phi Theta Kappa is recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official honor society of two-year colleges.

Related Articles